Skip to main content

About OES


Programs

The Office of Extended Studies (OES) partners with University of Maryland (UMD) academic units to provide administrative services for credit and non-credit initiatives that target a diverse range of students at the pre-college, undergraduate, graduate, and professional level. Programs include Summer, Winter, and Undergraduate Programs, and Professional and Continuing Education.

Summer and Winter Sessions serve current and incoming UMD students, visiting students from other two- and four-year institutions, professionals, and lifelong learners. Both sessions offer courses that meet on campus or anywhere online. Summer Session offers flexibility to make progress towards graduation during six distinct sessions. Winter Session offers convenience to keep learning during three weeks in January (between the end of fall and the beginning of spring semesters).

Undergraduate Programs include Freshmen Connection, Undergraduate Programs at the Universities at Shady Grove (USG), and Pre-College Programs. Freshmen Connection serves spring-admitted freshmen who start UMD in the fall semester and get on track to graduate in four years by earning up to 17 credits toward their undergraduate degree. Undergraduate Programs at USG offers a variety of academic programs where students earn a UMD undergraduate degree (final two years) in a conducive learning environment. Pre-College Programs features Terp Young Scholars which targets academically talented high school students who learn to navigate the college experience during three weeks in July either on campus or online.

Professional and Continuing Education includes Graduate, Post-Baccalaureate, Continuing Education, and Executive Education Programs, and MOOCs (Massive Open Online Courses). Graduate Programs offer master's degrees and graduate certificates that are crafted with expertise, innovation, and convenience for professionals who want to advance their career goals. Post-Baccalaureate Programs prepare students for professional schools, graduate programs, and professional achievement. Continuing Education Programs offer non-credit learning opportunities through UMD’s Open Learning Catalog. Executive Education Programs serve managers, business leaders, and executives with customized training programs. UMD MOOCs connects UMD’s expertise with online programs that expand knowledge and career opportunities. 

Staff Directory


Programs and Marketing/Communication Contact
Terrie Hruzd, Director hruzd@umd.edu
Bill Aarhus, Strategic Manager, MOOCs aarhus@umd.edu
Anne Baum, Associate Director, Summer, Winter, and Undergraduate Programs abaum@umd.edu
Tori Darby, Coordinator, Freshmen Connection tdarby@umd.edu
Ashley Deaver, Coordinator, Marketing and Communication adeaver@umd.edu
Hope Fagundes, Program Assistant, Pre-College Programs hopef@umd.edu
Kelli Frangoulis, Program Assistant, Open Learning kfrangou@umd.edu
Gennifer Godley, Program Assistant, Pre-College Programs ggodley@umd.edu
Maggie Haverfield, Coordinator, Web Communication mhaverfi@umd.edu
Ashley Mena, Coordinator, Pre-College Programs amena@umd.edu
Matthew Nessan, Associate Director, Professional and Continuing Education mnessan@umd.edu
Jacquelyn Smith, Program Assistant, Freshmen Connection smjqlyn@umd.edu
Jamie Stednitz, Manager, Undergraduate and Pre-College Programs jfry@umd.edu
Lenaya Stewart, Manager, Professional and Continuing Education lstewar4@umd.edu
Sibylle Stosch, Assistant Director, Marketing and Communication sibylles@umd.edu
Julie Weber, Coordinator, Open Learning jkweber@umd.edu
Finance and Operations Contact
Andrew Leighton, Director aleighto@umd.edu
Kelsey Brown, Scheduling Coordinator, Student and Program Services kbrown60@umd.edu
Verenice Ciciliano, Senior Business Manager vcicilia@umd.edu
John DeOrnellas, Business Manager jdeornel@umd.edu
Michelle Harris, Program Administrative Specialist, Student and Program Services mharri90@umd.edu
Lyndsy Horn, Business Manager lhorn1@umd.edu
Levar Kemp, Program Administrative Specialist, Student and Program Services lkemp1@umd.edu
Janet LoBiondo, Manager, Student and Program Services jlobiond@umd.edu
Erika Monroe, Data Coordinator, Student and Program Services elmonroe@umd.edu
Adam Mutuku, Financial Analyst amutuku@umd.edu
Hilary Sazama, Assistant Director, Student and Program Services hfein@umd.edu
Alka Soni, Assistant Director, Finance asoni@umd.edu
Vacant, Business Manager
Questions? Contact Us