Skip to main content

About OES


Programs

The Office of Extended Studies (OES) partners with University of Maryland (UMD) academic units to provide administrative services for credit and non-credit initiatives that target a diverse range of students at the pre-college, undergraduate, graduate, and professional level. Programs include Summer, Winter, and Undergraduate Programs, and Professional and Continuing Education.

Summer and Winter Sessions serve current and incoming UMD students, visiting students from other two- and four-year institutions, professionals, and lifelong learners. Both sessions offer courses that meet on campus or anywhere online. Summer Session offers flexibility to make progress towards graduation during three-week or six-week sessions. Winter Session offers convenience to keep learning during the first three weeks of January.

Undergraduate Programs include Freshmen Connection, Undergraduate Programs at the Universities at Shady Grove (USG), Undergraduate Programs at University System of Maryland at Southern Maryland (USMSM), and Pre-College Programs. Freshmen Connection serves spring-admitted freshmen who start earning UMD credits in the fall semester and get on track to graduate in four years. Undergraduate Programs at USG and at USMSM offer academic programs where students earn a UMD undergraduate degree (final two years) in a conducive learning environment. Pre-College Programs features Terp Young Scholars which targets academically talented high school students who learn to navigate the college experience.

Professional and Continuing Education includes Graduate, Post-Baccalaureate, Continuing Education, and Executive Education Programs, and UMD MOOCs (Massive Open Online Courses). Graduate Programs offer graduate degrees and certificates that are crafted with expertise, innovation, and convenience to advance professional career goals. Post-Baccalaureate Programs prepare students for graduate or professional school training. Continuing Education Programs offer non-credit learning opportunities through UMD’s Open Learning Catalog. Executive Education Programs serve managers, business leaders, and executives with customized training programs. UMD MOOCs utilize UMD’s expertise to offer online programs that expand knowledge and career opportunities.

Staff Directory


Programs and Marketing/Communication Contact
Terrie Hruzd, Director hruzd@umd.edu
Bill Aarhus, Strategic Manager, MOOCs aarhus@umd.edu
Anne Baum, Associate Director, Summer, Winter, and Undergraduate Programs abaum@umd.edu
Cierra Carter, Assistant, Web Communication cierramc@umd.edu
Ashley Deaver, Coordinator, Marketing and Communication adeaver@umd.edu
Jamie Fleishman, Program Assistant, Graduate Programs jfleish1@umd.edu
Kelli Frangoulis, Program Assistant, Open Learning kfrangou@umd.edu
Gennifer Godley, Coordinator, Freshmen Connection ggodley@umd.edu
Maggie Haverfield, Coordinator, Web Communication mhaverfi@umd.edu
Liz Homick, Program Assistant, Freshmen Connection ehomick@umd.edu
Karla Monroy, Program Assistant, Pre-College Programs kmonroy@umd.edu
Kayla Napoli, Program Assistant, Pre-College Programs knapoli@umd.edu
Matthew Nessan, Associate Director, Professional and Continuing Education mnessan@umd.edu
Erin Olsen, Manager, Professional and Continuing Education olsenek@umd.edu
Jamie Stednitz, Manager, Undergraduate and Pre-College Programs jfry@umd.edu
Sibylle Stosch, Assistant Director, Marketing and Communication sibylles@umd.edu
Julie Weber, Coordinator, Open Learning jkweber@umd.edu
Vacant, Coordinator, Pre-College Programs N/A
Vacant, Coordinator, Professional and Continuing Education N/A
Vacant, Program Assistant, Pre-College Programs N/A
Finance and Operations Contact
Andrew Leighton, Director aleighto@umd.edu
Kelsey Brown, Coordinator, Student and Program Services kbrown60@umd.edu
Verenice Ciciliano, Senior Business Manager vcicilia@umd.edu
John DeOrnellas, Senior Business Manager jdeornel@umd.edu
Michelle Harris, Program Administrative Specialist, Student and Program Services mharri90@umd.edu
Jonathan Johnson, Business Manager jsjohn@umd.edu
Levar Kemp, Program Administrative Specialist, Student and Program Services lkemp1@umd.edu
Janet LoBiondo, Manager, Student and Program Services jlobiond@umd.edu
Alexa Marcos, Business Manager amarcos@umd.edu
Erika Monroe, Data Coordinator, Student and Program Services elmonroe@umd.edu
Adam Mutuku, Financial Analyst amutuku@umd.edu
Hilary Sazama, Assistant Director, Student and Program Services hfein@umd.edu
Alka Soni, Assistant Director, Finance asoni@umd.edu
Vacant, Business Manager N/A
Questions? Contact Us